2016


I tried doing the Best Nine thing and… the results were kinda dumb. Half of the photos weren’t even from 2016. So I went and made my own collage of some of the things I’ll remember most about this year.
.
We visited all Seven Wonders of Oregon. The state felt like home in ways it hadn’t before.
.
I went back to South Africa three years after volunteering at an orphanage- and got to bring Deanna this time.
.
After a scary health episode early in the year, Deanna not only recovered but in some ways was better than before. As Daniel put it, she’s growing a third lung.
.
We adopted Beignet. I got up at 2 AM to stake out the puppy shelter like it was Black Friday. All worth it for our girl.
.
I ran my first half marathon, and even more surprising, I actually started to enjoy running.
.
We went to New York! Actually, we’re still currently in New York! But this pic is a stand-in for all the other great American cities we saw this year: Kona, San Francisco, Providence, Salt Lake, Chicago, Austin, etc.
.
On a sad note, I lost my grandma at the age of 98. I spent four days in a plane so I could spend two days in the Philippines for her memorial. Zero regret.
.
I made it to country number 39. Swaziland is gorgeous.
.
I finished grad school at UO with two Masters Degrees, which segways nicely into 2017. What’s next? We’ll find out together.

Leave a Reply

