Rack of Lamb

2016 Recipe No. 52

At the very end of 2015, I decided that my cooking skills could use some improvement. I liked to cook, and to eat of course, but there was so much I hadn’t made before. I wanted to know the exact impact an adjusted ratio would have on bread, what one more minute at whatever temperature would do to meat, and all that.

After Christmas I made a list of 52 different things to cook over the next year. Most were chosen so I could learn specific skills. I picked some just cause of the time of the year, or cause I really wanted to try making them.

Last week, I got to end the year off with a bang, making a rack of lamb using Julia Child’s marinade and topping it off with a wine reduction. I was thrilled when I cut into the center to find the exact shade of pinkish-red I wanted.

Here’s to challenging yourself and getting it done. Now to figure out something for 2017 in these next few days.

Thing I Learned #1 – A “frenched” rack of lamb is where the fat and meat has been cut to expose the bone underneath.

The Process

Create a marinade by stirring together herbs, garlic, soy sauce, and olive oil. Coat the lamb and let marinate overnight.

The next day, cook in the oven for 10 minutes at 500º F.

Remove and top with melted butter and bread crumbs

Return to the oven for 10-15 more minutes, or until it is cooked on the outside but still a bit pink internally.

Let rest for 5 minutes before cutting/serving

Thing I Learned #2 – A full rack of lamb contains 16 ribs, 8 on each side.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon of dried oregano
1 tablespoon of ground rosemary
1/3 cup of dijon mustard
3 pureed garlic cloves
1 tablespoon of soy sauce
3 tablespoons of olive oil
4 tablespoons of bread crumbs
1 tablespoon of butter
1 rack of lamb

Step-By-Step

  1. Stir together the oil, garlic, mustard, oregano, soy sauce and rosemary in a mixing bowl until an even consistency is reached
  2. Coat the lamb in marinade overnight in the refrigerator, or for several hours at room temperature
  3. Preheat oven to 500º F
  4. Cook the lamb racks for 10 minutes
  5. Coat the lamb racks with melted butter and bread crumbs
  6. Roast for 10-15 more minutes
  7. Let rest for 5 minutes before cutting and serving
Thing I Learned #3 – When two frenched lamb racks are served side-by-side with interlinked ribs, it is referred to as a Guard of Honor.

Serving This Sucker

I made a quick wine reduction by adding wine tot he stuff left in the pan. I served on top of garlic mashed potatoes I made earlier.

In The Future

If I were to do it again, I would’ve simply plated the rack upside down for aesthetics. I am thoroughly happy with the color I got in the center of the meat. Perfectly, satisfyingly, pink.

Leave a Reply

