Norwegian Potato Porridge

2016 Recipe No. 49

When I was planning out what meals to make over the course of the year, I mostly thought about seasons and what sort of foods go well as the weather changes. For the most part I did a good job. Then I realize I’ve gone really heavy into Scandinavian type foods the past few weeks. I must’ve gotten the severity of Oregon’s winters mixed up with Norway.

While I’m glad we don’t have as much winter harshness as the Nordic states, I’ll gladly welcome in some of their cuisine, as I did with this potato porridge. Came out a bit on the thick side, but when it’s chilly out, nobody complains.

I did do something right by adding bacon. Sometimes a starchy potato based meal just asks to be matched with a salty pork of some kind.

Thing I Learned #1 – Once upon a time this dish was a Norwegian classic. Then sometime around World War II, people just lost interest. A quick internet search reveals only 634 results for “potetgrøt” while “pizza” returns a good 319,000 hits from Norwegian websites alone.

The Process

Boil the potatoes half an hour to soften them up. If they’re cut into medium sized pieces, they’ll soften even easier.

Fry some bacon and onion.

Drain the potato water, and add in some milk and flour. Mash the potatoes.

Stir it all up in order to get the consistency nice and even. Add more milk if necessary.

Pour into serving bowls. Top with bacon, onion, and chopped scallion.

Thing I Learned #2 – I paired the potato porridge up with some bacon and scallion, because those are fairly easy things to find. A little more ambitious of an option? Lingonberries.

Ingredients

4 potatoes
2 cups of milk
1 cup of flour
1/2 tablespoon of salt
bacon
onion
scallions

Step-By-Step

  1. Cut the potatoes into pieces
  2. Boil for about 30 minutes
  3. Drain the water
  4. Fry bacon and sliced onion
  5. Add flour and milk to the pot
  6. Mash the flours to get an even consistency
  7. Stir until a nice, creamy consistency is reached
  8. Top with onion, bacon, and scallion
Thing I Learned #3 – For fans of sour cream, there is most definitely a sour cream variation of this dish, Rømmegrøt.

Serving This Sucker

I kept it simple, because for a potato based dish with five ingredients, complicated just isn’t a good fit. Porridge went right into a bowl, topped with the bacon and scallions.

In The Future

This came out a bit to thick. In the future, my lesson will be to add some more milk while prepping the potatoes.

Leave a Reply

