Bouef Borgignon

2016 Recipe No. 42

Now that we’ve hit that fall-winter part of my cooking challenge, I’ve been having lots of fun with these heavier, heartier meals- this week’s being no exception.

I gave making bouef borgignon a shot, or as Julia Child calls it, bouef b£•∞¶£on. Speaking of Julia, I essentially used her recipe, but without a dutch oven, I had to adapt and improvise to work with our slow cooker. That’s what the recipe below is.

I got to come home to a great meal and a great smelling house. Not much I would’ve changed about how it turned out, except that I wish I made even more.

Thing I Learned #1 – Tell somebody that you had bouef borgignon for dinner and they’ll come to the conclusion that you are a fancy and haute individual. But, like much of haute French cuisine, it was originally peasant food. Mmmmm… peasant food.

The Process

First, sear up some bacon in oil. Add this to a crock pot dish. Dry beef cubes so they sear well, brown them, and then add to the crock pot.

Add salt and pepper, garlic, carrot, bouquet garmi, wine and beef stock.

Cook this on high for 2.5 hours.

Add butter, flour, and onions.

Serve it up!

Ingredients

2 lbs. of beef
2 cups of red wine
2 cups of beef stock
1 cup of lardons (matchstick diced bacon)

1/2 stick of butter.
1 tablespoon of tomato paste

4 cloves of smashed garlic
1 bouquet gram (an herb bouquet of parsley, thyme, and bay leaf)
2 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil

1/2 cup of flour.
1/2 cup of pearl onions
1 sliced carrot

Thing I Learned #2 – A lot of more “modern” versions of this recipe do without the lardons; which, if you use marbled beef, there should be enough fat on there so that you could spare the bacon. But, Julia’s a bit of a French purist and so am I, so I’m sticking with it.

Step-By-Step

  1. Sauté up the lardons in olive oil.
  2. Transfer lardons to the crock pot.
  3. Dice the beef into cubes.
  4. Dry the beef cubes with a paper towel.
  5. Sear the beef cubes in the oil and bacon fat.
  6. Add the beef to the crock pot.
  7. Add carrot and garlic.
  8. Season with salt and pepper.
  9. Add wine and stock.
  10. Add garlic and bouquet garmi.
  11. Cook on high for 2.5 hours
  12. Add pearl onions. Add butter and flour.
  13. Cook on warm for 2 hours.
Thing I Learned #3 – Rather than drop a third fun fact here, maybe I’ll just refer you to the ultimate source for everything you could ever need to know about the history of this dish: http://robbwolf.com/2014/02/05/history-lesson-recipe-beef-bourguignon/

Serving This Sucker

I copied a really pretty photo I saw once and plated this right on top of a piece of sourdough toast. Pretty, huh?

In The Future

The beef was just a bit dry and the sauce a bit too much on the salty side. But other than that, I really wouldn’t want to change much.

Leave a Reply

