Energy Bars

2016 Recipe No. 27

I hit the halfway point of my 2016 cooking goals! Of course, right when I hit the halfway point, I started to get busy and skipped a few weeks.

I felt pretty determined to not let another week pass me by without crossing anything off, so in spite of this week probably being my most sedentary week of the year (I’ll be sitting on a plane for over 60 hours) I cooked up my most high octane food item. Power bars.

Considering most power bars taste kinda weird and have a weird texture, I figured it would be hard coming up with a standard to gauge how well I did this recipe. I somewhat based a lot of the ingredients off what I could recall from a Good Eats episode with peanut butter, tofu, wheat germ, and oat bran being the main components. I also got pretty excited at my grocery’s bulk section when I found things like dried whole bananas and cherries to include.

When it was finished, I actually thought it was pretty good for a power bar. The texture was still a little bit funky, I blame the tofu, but everything kind of melded together and formed a cohesive taste that was dominated by the peanut butter and bananas- and that’s a solid combination right there.

Thing I Learned #1 – One of the early predecessors to an energy bar was an energy stick designed for NASA by Pillsbury

The Process

Combine the dry ingredients (minus brown sugar) in a mixing bowl

Chop up the dried fruits into small pieces

Combine the wet ingredients, starting with tofu and including brown sugar in another mixing bowl, one at a time

Grease a glass baking pan

Slowly mix together the dry and wet ingredients

Fold in the chopped fruits

Bake the bars for thirty minutes at 350º

Thing I Learned #2 – Energy bars aren’t all that cheap, but as a result the energy bar industry is worth around 5.7 billion dollars

Ingredients

1/3 cup of dried cherries

1/3 cup of dried bananas

1 cup of soy protein powder

3/4 cup of wheat germ

2 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour

1 package of tofu

1/2 cup of unfiltered apple juice

2 large eggs

2/3 cup of peanut butter

1/2 cup of brown sugar

2 1/4 cup of oat bran

1/2 teaspoon of salt

Step-By-Step

  1. Grease a glass baking dish
  2. Combine dry ingredients– protein powder, oat bran, wheat flour, wheat germ, and salt in a mixing bowl
  3. Chop the dried cherries and bananas into small pieces
  4. Stir together wet ingredients– the eggs, tofu, apple juice, peanut putter, and apple juice, plus brown sugar one at a time
  5. Combine and stir together wet and dry ingredients slowly
  6. Fold in the dried fruit
  7. Pour evenly across the glass pan
  8. Bake for 35 minutes at 350º
Thing I Learned #3 – Energy bars for dogs exist… the YaffBar is actually intended for both humans and dogs to share

Serving This Sucker

Well, this isn’t a meal so much as a wonderful thing to eat on the go. Slice it up into bars! I happened to bring some with me on a long plane ride and that really came in handy. I wish I made some of these while I was half marathon training.

In The Future

One way to mix this up would be to try out different dried fruits, and having a large grocery store nearby with a wonderful bulk section really helps. I’d look forward to trying out a more tropical mix.

French Toast, Energy Bars, Sauerkraut, Chips and Salsa

Leave a Reply

