Kona Brewing Co.


Kona Brewing Co. makes some of my favorite beers, hands down. Pipeline porter? Excellent. Lychee Lager? I really enjoyed that. My absolute favorite though has to be the Wailua Wheat… especially as a solid summertime beer. It’s a passionfruit pale ale and I don’t know if I’ve ever had another beer that I can consider equally as refreshing. Lava Rock was a little bit hoppier than my usual preference, but that’s why there are options.

For lunch we went with pizzas… most people seemed to be pretty excited about the pizzas, and they looked pretty promising. I went with the Kohala, recognizing most of my favorite toppings alongside Hawaiian specialties. On the whole, the pizza was pretty good, but not entirely what I was expecting. With garlic, roasted peppers, and parmesan sausage, I think I was expecting a bolder taste. The crust was also a bit uninteresting. It was still a good pizza, though, and I’d get it again.

As an appetizer, we had an order of the ahi poke. It’s hard to go wrong with poke, and we liked what we got.
Leave a Reply

