Classic French Toast with Pomegranate Syrup

2016 Recipe No. 26

The very first thing I learned how to cook ever was french toast. It seemed appropriate that one of the items on my list should be trying to perfect my very first recipe that I made as a kid.

I was at my aunt and uncle’s, and my Auntie Ella would always prepare me these massive breakfasts with all the classics. Sausage links and eggs and bacon and O.J. And french toasts would be an important part, too. One time she asked me if I wanted to give it a shot. I don’t recall it being any different from a typical french toast recipe. A wash of eggs. Cinnamon. Powdered sugar.

That being my first recipe and all, I wanted to make sure to do it justice when making it as a part of my cooking project. That meant the non-negotiable were truly non-negotiable. Texas Toast, even though some lady at the grocery store tried to pitch a discounted loaf of white bread. A double wash of the eggs. A bit of butter and vanilla extract. Just the right frying time.

A couple of maple sausage links on the side and the world has come full circle.

Thing I Learned #1 – French toast was originally invented as a means of redeeming stale bread

The Process

Make a pomegranate syrup by reducing pomegranate juice with sugar and water

Make an egg wash and add vanilla and butter extract

Coat each toast in the egg wash and dust with cinnamon sugar

Sear on a pan with butter for about a minute on each side

Thing I Learned #2 – The origin of French toast, to my surprise, is actually French. Although they blamed it on the Italians and called it Roman bread.

Ingredients

4 eggs

3 cups of pure pomegranate juice

1 table of butter

1/2 teaspoon of butter extract

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

8 slices of texas toast

3 tablespoons of cinnamon

2 1/3 cup of granulated sugar

1/3 cup of powdered sugar

1/3 cup of water

Step-By-Step

For the Pomegranate Syrup

  1. Heat the pomegranate juice in a saucepan
  2. Add 2 cups of sugar
  3. Add water
  4. Heat until the syrup reduces

For the Toast

  1. Open and beat four eggs in a mixing bowl
  2. Add butter extract and vanilla extract to egg wash
  3. Coat each piece of toast in the egg wash
  4. Grease the pan with a pat of butter
  5. Mix cinnamon and 1/3 cup of sugar
  6. Dust both sides of the toast with cinnamon sugar
  7. Fry for about a minute and a half on both sides
Thing I Learned #3 – A very British thing to do is to serve French toast with ketchup, which to editorialize, does not sound very appealing. The Scottish approach does sound good, serving up slices with sausage.

Serving This Sucker

This pairs well with all the classic breakfast foods, obviously. I went with some maple breakfast links. Bacon also lends itself well to the sweet and salty thing.

In The Future

As a classic recipe, this is one that doesn’t lend itself to much tinkering, though I’ve seen good things done with slivered almonds.

Leave a Reply

