23 June 2011


Isla Vista, California

Each of the past few years have brought about so much change. Five years ago, I never would’ve thought that this is how my life would look in 2016. I doubt I would’ve predicted that I’d be married by this point, living in Oregon, enjoying increasingly ordinary things.
.
I wonder how I would have reacted if I knew this future would be five years away. It wouldn’t surprise me if I would have found that knowledge intimidating. Threatening to a lot of the things I valued more five years ago.
.
When trying to plan upcoming trips I realized I have absolutely no clue what to anticipate from life beyond six months from now, other than a lot of change. More often than not, I’d really love to know what to expect. To know what I’m looking ahead to.
.
The one constant through each of the past few years though has been God’s faithfulness to give me what I need to get through each big change. Physical needs, but that’s not just it. Sometimes the thing I’ve really needed at certain times has been a good challenge. Other times, I’ve needed a stubborn resilience to continue ahead in a certain direction without knowing what to expect. Then there’s those seasons where I’ve needed the wisdom to know when to change course.
.
That was true five years ago, and now, and it’ll be true in six months. It’s good to have a constant like that to lean on.

Leave a Reply

