Peace; Orlando


What a difficult weekend for all of us to stomach. It was about this time last year when we were in Orlando, honeymooning, creating wonderful, wizarding moments.

I haven’t really posted much about Orlando yet, and by social media standards this is a late response. I think it’s kind of weird that “my response” should even be a thing. There aren’t any words that can take away the pain after that sort of a horror. Plenty of mourning and outrage has already been expressed, and rightfully so.

At the same time, I think it’s important for us to let each other know that we stand together, all of us who recognize that human life is a sacred and precious thing, and that anything that can be done to prevent these eruptions of hate from happening should be done.

I think it’s especially important for any of my LGBT friends and family to know I’m with them and that I hope the world grows into a safer, more respectful place. I want my Latino and Puerto Rican friends to know that I feel the pain that must resounds throughout a cultural community. I want my Muslim friends to know that I am sorry for those who will feel targeted or unsafe because of one person’s actions.

I think that each bit of solidarity people have expressed is important. If nothing else, it’s a reminder that the we can respond to sin and darkness the way the human body is built to respond to disease. Swiftly flooding the affected area with healing agents and letting hate know that it does not belong. The weight of everyone’s grief is evidence that hate is way outnumbered.

Leave a Reply

