05 May 2014


Bakersfield, California

Two years ago was my 24th birthday, and probably one of my more memorable birthday celebrations. Deanna and I got up to watch the sunrise at the Bakersfield bluffs.

That was the morning she told me that she also knew that I was the one she wanted to marry, putting the ball in my court for the next move.

The very next day, I got some difficult news about a car accident that happened on my birthday claiming three lives of people I was connected to. The remainder of the month would have its share of tragedy… Two weeks later would bring the Isla Vista shootings to our old home.

She took that leap of faith at just the right time, since we had to do a whole lot of leaning into each other over the next month, something we’ve always been able to do safely ever since.

Leave a Reply

