Sriracha Bloody Mary

Item No. 11 of my 2016 Cooking Challenge

Cocktail time! This time around I happened to pick up a handle of Crater Lake pepper infused vodka, which seemed to perfectly lend itself to a bloody mary. Not to mention the last item I cooked up was barbecue sauce, and there’s often a good deal of overlap between ingredients of the two recipes.

Thing I Learned #1 – Bloody Mary, named for the notorious Mary I of England, dubbed “Bloody” because of her execution of protestants.

Plus it was a thirsty Thursday to begin with.

Safe to say Deanna and I are pretty big fans of bloody marys. Ever since we started traveling together, she’s gotten me into the habit of requesting for bloody mary mix as my beverage of choice while on an airplane.

Thing I Learned #2 – Okay, but why is bloody mary so good on a plane? Elevation actually tends to dull most of your taste buds, particularly for sweet and salty tastes. Bloody marys have elements of both, plus some spiciness to jackhammer its way through the dullness.

Ingredients

2 shots of Crater Lake pepper infused vodka
4 shots of tomato juice
1/2 shot of lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon horseradish
3 dashes of sriracha
2 dashes of worchestershire
1 pinch of celery salt
Bacon (optional)
Sea salt (optional)
Gherkins (optional)
Parsley (optional)
Anything else you’d like as a garnish (optional)

Tools

A shaker
Shot pourer
Measuring spoons

By the way, Crater Lake’s pepper vodka is exceptionally smooth. I’m not the biggest fan of most vodkas and most flavored vodkas strike me as a bit tacky, but this is a great exception. It goes down smooth without such a pungent bite and it has a good chipotle-like taste.

1) Let it pour

Pour pretty much everything except for the garnish ingredients. That’s the vodka, tomato juice, lemon juice, horseradish, sriracha, worchestershire, and celery salt. Get them into a shaker. If you don’t have a shaker, you can do what I did and use a mason jar.

2) Shake It Up

With everything poured, twist the mason jar shut tight and give it a good shake. You’ll want to make sure the ingredients are well mixed, especially the horseradish.

3) Dress It Up

A big part of the fun of a bloody mary is creative presentation. Numerous glasses or beverage containers lend themselves well to the drink, and I like to salt the rim with a mix of sea salt and celery salt. Black pepper is sometimes also a nice addition. So many things work well as garnishes, too. I went with some bacon, because I’ve always wanted to use a bacon garnish and only so many drinks allow for that. Gherkins were also a complement, along with a sprig of parsley. Some other popular items are celery stalks, full pickles, carrots, and other pickled veggies.

Thing I Learned #3 – During the “my precious ears!” era of the fifties, the alternate name “Red Snapper” was proposed for the drink, for those who found “Bloody Mary” to be too racy of a name

Serving this Sucker

 

Well, I pretty much just covered that.

In the Future

 

I liked this recipe a lot and I don’t see myself tinkering with it a great deal… perhaps playing with different ratios of the sriracha and horseradish to get different sorts of spicy… or of course, trying out a different vodka.

As far as garnishes go, why not get creative next time? On the wilder side, how about some cubed swiss or dubliner cheese? Chicharones? A battered calamari?

Leave a Reply

