Slower


From the beginning this place has always taught me how to slow it way down. This isn’t a place where things happen instantly upon an idea being formed. Things take time, with a lot of space in between.

Honestly, I say I wish life was like that more, but when you’re accustomed to the hustle it can be a frustrating thing to get used to. Still, this is where I first learned to simply be present.

Whenever I would get a surly open block of time, I would go to the courtyard of the centre, see who was over there, and wait for the interesting happenings to unfold. Yesterday morning was like that. The kids’ Saturday program wouldn’t start for another week, so we watched everyone figure out how to use their atypical Saturday. We kicked around a soccer ball and made some new friends in the process.

 

Leave a comment