Camp Vibes


In the world I notice persons are nearly always stressed and have no time…I don’t know how persons with jobs do the jobs and all the living as well…I guess the time gets spread very thin like butter all over the world, the roads and houses and playgrounds and stores, so there’s only a little smear of time on each place, then everyone has to hurry on to the next bit.
—Emma Donoghue, Room

This was probably my favorite line in the book and I’m glad the movie adaptation made a note of it. Sometimes I feel like I couldn’t agree more with the quote.

I admit to being a two legged contradiction as far as that goes. I love to travel and see places and I get cabin fever when it’s been too long without an adventure. I’ve spent the last three weeks spread across three corners of the country.

There’s also something I love, though, about staying still and taking it slow. There’s something about spending all of a Sunday at home, doing what you will whenever it occurs to you that seems closer to the way I’d want to live.

 

Leave a Reply

