Exploring Asheville


I’m loving the Carolinas. North and South. Yesterday I snuck off to North Carolina on my own while Ivy and JB had work. I’d only ever heard the best things said about Asheville, so I had to go and see it for myself. I’ve never been fully comfortable with solo adventures, which is why I sometimes feel the need to do ’em.

Downtown Asheville, so charming and almost entirely comprised of local shops and venues. I let myself get lost for a few hours. It was damp, which actually made the city seem more lively while I snacked on a savory crêpe and cashew juice.

Getting to see Asheville was a longtime wish fulfilled, even if I wasn’t there for very long. Coincidentally, I came across a “Before I Die” wall, and these things are always a surprisingly emotional encounter.

I’d have things on my list, too. It seems like once I cross one off, I get another idea for another one. Before I die I’d love to hike the Camino de Santiago, and visit the remaining states I haven’t seen, and of course start a family. It’s good to have quests. But, you also never know just how much time you’d have to do all those things. In either case, I’m still extremely thankful to be alive.

 

Leave a Reply

